Don't Wait! You only have 14 days to seek medical treatment after an accident.
I had the most terrible thing happen in the office today. A young man came in seeking relief from his injuries and I can't help him.
Why, you ask? Well, let me tell you it has nothing to do with his injuries. Our team of medical professionals can treat his condition and I would expect excellent results.
He was injured in an accident (not his fault) and he has no way to pay for his care. Unfortunately, this young man will likely not receive the care he NEEDS to recover and may suffer permanent injury and damage.
He had a collision with a car while on his bicycle. What mistakes did he make? First, he didn't collect any information from the other party or file a police report. Second, he didn't seek medical attention until three months later in our office. At this point, this poor young man has a part time minimum wage job and pain that is getting progressively worse. It hurts me so bad to see someone hurt so bad and not be able to help them.
If you have been injured in an accident remember these very important law changes specific to Florida that passed just a few years ago.
Florida is a no fault state. What does that mean?
The state of Florida requires each driver to carry at least $10,000 in personal injury coverage, which allows a Florida motorist to receive medical benefits if involved in an accident, even if the accident is their fault. This means that you have coverage for your medical bills even if you were the person that caused the accident!
You only have 14 days to seek medical care for your injuries
Many times you may not feel the extent of your injuries immediately after the accident (this young man waited three months). Your adrenaline is pumping from the accident and you feel "fine." You decide to wait and see how you feel the next day when you wake up or you may think, "it will go away by itself." Wrong! I always encourage someone to get checked out by a specialist in auto/ trauma injuries (Coastal Integrative Healthcare) and at least have it documented in case your pain doesn't go away or it gets worse.
If you don't seek medical care within 14 days, you have no medical coverage period.
Do I need a personal injury attorney?
Depends on several factors. Most likely, you want to recover your health, your car, and get your life back. Hiring an attorney will ensure that is more likely to happen. Because we deal with many different attorney offices we know which attorneys you can trust. We are happy to offer recommendations to the top personal injury lawyers in Volusia County if needed.
Coastal Integrative Healthcare
315 N Ridgewood Ave
Edgewater FL 32132